Menu Close

How many constituencies are there in Norfolk?

How many constituencies are there in Norfolk?

The county of Norfolk is divided into 9 Parliamentary constituencies – 2 Borough constituencies and 7 County constituencies.

Which constituency is Thetford in?

This article uses bare URLs, which may be threatened by link rot.

South West Norfolk
Major settlements Downham Market, Swaffham and Thetford
Current constituency
Created 1885
Member of Parliament Liz Truss (Conservative)

Who is MP for West Norfolk?

MP details – James Wild MP.

What constituency is Marham?

For Westminster elections Marham forms part of the South West Norfolk constituency, represented by Elizabeth Truss (Conservative).

Is Tory in Norfolk?

Every four years the people of each division elect one councillor to be a member of Norfolk County Council. Following the last election in May 2021, Norfolk County Council is under Conservative control.

Who is the MP for South Norfolk?

Richard Bacon (politician) Richard Michael Bacon (born 3 December 1962, Solihull) is a British Conservative Party politician who has been the Member of Parliament (MP) for South Norfolk since 2001.

What constituency is Diss in?

South Norfolk is a constituency represented in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament since 2001 by Richard Bacon, a Conservative….South Norfolk (UK Parliament constituency)

South Norfolk
Major settlements Diss, Haddiscoe
Current constituency
Created 1868
Member of Parliament Richard Bacon (Conservative)

What constituency is wymondham in?

This article uses bare URLs, which may be threatened by link rot.

Mid Norfolk
County Norfolk
Electorate 75,080 (December 2010)
Major settlements Dereham and Wymondham
Current constituency

Who is the MP for North Norfolk?

Duncan Charles Baker (born 15 November 1979) is a British Conservative Party politician, who has served as the Member of Parliament (MP) for North Norfolk since the 2019 general election.

Who is Kings Lynn MP?

North West Norfolk (UK Parliament constituency)

North West Norfolk
Created 1974
Member of Parliament James Wild (Conservative)
Number of members One
Created from King’s Lynn

When did South West Norfolk become a constituency?

From the 1950 general election, it has been formally known as the county constituency of South West Norfolk .

When did Albert Hilton lose South West Norfolk?

He lost it to Denys Bullard in 1951 by 442 votes and won it back in 1955 with a majority of 193. Dye died at the end of 1958, and in the by-election Albert Hilton retained the seat for Labour by a margin of 1,354 votes. In the 1959 general election that soon followed, his majority was cut to 78.

What was the county of Norfolk in 1885?

1885–1918: The part of the Municipal Borough of Thetford in the county of Norfolk, and the Sessional Divisions of Clackclose, Grimshoe, South Greenhoe, and Wayland.

Who is the MP for Mid Dorset and Poole North?

The Conservative Party selected Christopher Fraser, former MP for Mid Dorset and Poole North and he was elected with a majority of over 10,000. On 28 May 2009, Fraser announced that he would be standing down at the 2010 general election citing family reasons.