Menu Close

Who won the Premier League in 1947?

Who won the Premier League in 1947?

The 1947–48 season was the 49th completed season of The Football League….1947–48 Football League.

Season 1947–48
Champions Arsenal
← 1946–47 1948–49 →

Who won the league in 1949?

The 1949–50 season was the 51st completed season of The Football League….1949–50 Football League.

Season 1949–50
Champions Portsmouth
← 1948–49 1950–51 →

Who won the league in 1948?

The 1948–49 season was the 50th completed season of The Football League….1948–49 Football League.

Season 1948–49
Champions Portsmouth
← 1947–48 1949–50 →

Who won the Football League in 1945?

Derby County
The winners of the 1945/46 FA Cup were Derby County, who won the final 4-1 against Charlton Athletic after extra time. You may have used Bert Turner’s misfortune as a pub quiz question recently: he scored an own goal and then a minute later equalised for Charlton, but still ended up on the losing side.

Who won the league in 1959?

The 1959–60 season was the 61st completed (62nd overall) season of The Football League….1959–60 Football League.

Season 1959–60
Champions Burnley
Relegated Gateshead
← 1958–59 1960–61 →

Who owns Brentford FC?

Matthew Benham’s
After financial struggles in their lower league years, it was 2007 – 60 years after they had last played top-flight football – when things started to change for Brentford after current owner Matthew Benham’s involvement in the club began.

Who won the Football League in 1955?

1955–56 Football League

Season 1955–56
Champions Manchester United
← 1954–55 1956–57 →

Who Won Division 1 1950?

Tottenham Hotspur
Sheffield Wednesday and Everton were relegated to the Second Division, bracketed together at the bottom of the First Division on 32 points….First Division.

Season 1950–51
Champions Tottenham Hotspur (1st English title)
Relegated Sheffield Wednesday, Everton
FA Cup winners Newcastle United (4th FA Cup title)

Who won the Premier League in 1960?

1960–61 Football League First Division

Season 1960–61
Champions Tottenham Hotspur (2nd English title)
Relegated Newcastle United Preston North End
1961–62 European Cup Tottenham Hotspur
FA Cup winners Tottenham Hotspur (3rd FA Cup title)

Who won the Football League in 1953?

Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wolverhampton Wanderers won the First Division title for the first time in their history, finishing four points ahead of their local rivals West Bromwich Albion, who lifted their fourth FA Cup in the same season.

Who won the English Football League in 1960?

Aston Villa
The 1960–61 was the inaugural staging of the Football League Cup, The tournament was won by Aston Villa, who beat Rotherham United 3–2 on aggregate after extra time.

Who won league in 1960?

When did the Premier League start and end?

Premier League known as English Premier League (EPL) is an English Men’s Clubs football competition among the top 20 compete for each through points system a winner is selected. The initial form of EPL is “Football League” competition was started in 1888 goes to 1892, then it was changed as “Football League First Division” from 1892 to 1992.

Who are the past champions of the Premier League?

Premier League » Champions Year Winner 1972 Derby County 1971 Arsenal FC 1970 Everton FC 1969 Leeds United

Who was the first team to win the English Football League?

Following the legalisation of professional football by the Football Association in 1885, the Football League was established in 1888, after a series of meetings initiated by Aston Villa director William McGregor. At the end of the 1888–89 season, Preston North End were the first club to be crowned champions after completing their fixtures unbeaten.

Who is the most successful team in the Premier League?

English Football League & Premier League Champions: EPL Winners, history through the years. The Most successful club of English Premier League is Manchester United have won the titles 20 times overall and 13th title winners in English Football since the Premier League Inaugural season in 1991/92.