Menu Close

Who is the present Minister of Indian foreign policy?

Who is the present Minister of Indian foreign policy?

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar (born 9 January 1955) is an Indian diplomat and politician who is the current Minister of External Affairs of the Government of India since 31 May 2019.

Who makes the foreign policy of India?

The Ministry of External Affairs (India) (MEA), also known as the Foreign Ministry, is the government agency responsible for the conduct of foreign relations of India.

Who is the spokesperson of Ministry of External Affairs?

It is headed by Sujata Mehta, one of India’s foremost diplomats and former Indian representative to UN Conference on Disarmament, Geneva. Mehta is Special Secretary in the MEA.

Who is Vani Rao?

Vani Rao is a career diplomat in the Indian Foreign Service, in which she has served since 1994. She assumed charge as Ambassador of India to Finland on 25 July 2017. Previously, Ms. Rao was Joint Secretary (Overseas Indian Affairs), spearheading programmes and initiatives for engagement with the Indian Diaspora.

Who is the current foreign minister?

Incumbent. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar The Minister of External Affairs (or simply, the Foreign Minister, in Hindi Videsh Mantri) is the head of the Ministry of External Affairs of the Government of India.

Who is the writer of the making of foreign policy?

Joseph Frankel
The making of foreign policy/Authors

Who was India’s first foreign minister?

List of Foreign Ministers

Name Term of office
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 15 August 1947
2 Gulzarilal Nanda 27 May 1964
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 9 June 1964
4 Swaran Singh 18 July 1964

Who is the chief spokesperson of the Government in the parliament?

The current minister is Pralhad Joshi.

How can I join Indian Foreign Service?

To become an IFS or Indian Foreign Services officer, aspirants must appear for the civil services examination conducted by UPSC every year. Candidates must clear each round of the exam – Prelims, Mains and Interview, and acquire a recommendation from UPSC to get appointed as an IFS officer.

Who is the head of the Indian Foreign Service?

The Foreign Secretary, currently Smt. Sujatha Singh, is the head of the Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and as such first among the four Secretaries in the Ministry, who share at the helm all substantive responsibilities for the diplomatic conduct of India’s foreign policy.

Why is cooperation an important factor in Indian Foreign Policy?

But it is largely not in our control, and is subject to competition from other states. Cooperation is therefore an important factor, for it is not possible to secure one’s absolute goals; that would be at the expense of all others, and therefore not tenable or sustainable.

Who is the current Minister of External Affairs of India?

The current Minister is Shri Salman Khurshid, assisted by two Ministers of State, Smt. Preneet Kaur and Shri E. Ahamed.

What kind of Foreign Relations did India have before independence?

Even before independence, the Indian colonial government maintained semi-autonomous diplomatic relations. It had colonies (such as the Aden Settlement ), who sent and received full missions,. India was a founder member of both the League of Nations and the United Nations.