Menu Close

Which two countries are separated by McMahon Line?

Which two countries are separated by McMahon Line?

The McMahon Line is the effective boundary between China and India. However, China does not recognise it. India’s border dispute with China is mainly due to this disagreement.

Which part of India China boundary is called the McMahon Line?

Complete answer: The Northern part of the India-China boundary is called the Mac Mohan line. The McMahon Line was the consequence of the Shimla Treaty of 1914, which occurred between India and Tibet.

What is the name of border line between India and Myanmar?

Land borders of India

Land Border Country Length (m) and (mi) Comments
China 3,488 kilometres (2,167 mi) Also see McMahon Line.
Myanmar 1,458 kilometres (906 mi) Also see India-Myanmar barrier
Nepal 1,752 kilometres (1,089 mi) Open border.
Pakistan 3,310 kilometres (2,060 mi) Also see Radcliffe Line, Operation Meghdoot and Sir Creek.

What is the McMahon Line Class 12 Political Science?

The McMahon Line is the demarcation between Tibet and Arunachal Pradesh in North East India. India regards its interpretation of the McMahon Line as the legal national border with China. The India-Pakistan border is also locally known as the International border.

Where is McMahon Line Arunachal Pradesh?

The McMahon Line forms the basis of the Line of Actual Control and the northern boundary of Arunachal Pradesh (shown in red) in the eastern Himalayas administered by India but claimed by China. The area was the eastern sector of the 1962 Sino-Indian War.

Which boundary line divides India and China?

McMahon Line
McMahon Line | international boundary, China-India | Britannica.

Where is McMahon Line?

McMahon Line, frontier between Tibet and Assam in British India, negotiated between Tibet and Great Britain at the end of the Shimla Conference (October 1913–July 1914) and named for the chief British negotiator, Sir Henry McMahon.

What is the name of border line between India and Sri Lanka?

Later in November, India and Sri Lanka signed another agreement to extend the maritime boundary in the Gulf of Mannar….India–Sri Lanka maritime boundary agreements.

India-Sri Lanka maritime boundaries Bay of Bengal Boundary Palk Bay Boundary Gulf of Mannar Boundary
Type Boundary delimitation
Language English

What is the name of border line between India and Bhutan?

The Bhutan–India border is the international border separating Bhutan and India. The border is 699 km (434 m) long, and adjoins the Indian states of Assam (267 km; 166 m), Arunachal Pradesh (217 km; 135 m), West Bengal (183 km; 114 m), and Sikkim (32 km; 20 m)….

Bhutan–India border
Treaties Treaty of Sinchula

Which is the boundary line between India and Pakistan?

the Radcliffe Line
The boundary demarcation line between India and Pakistan known as the Radcliffe Line came into force on 17 August 1947. The boundary line is named after Sir Cyril Radcliffe the man who had the thankless job of drawing the lines of Partition to carve out Muslim majority Pakistan from India.

What is the boundary line between India and Pakistan called?

The Radcliffe Line
The Radcliffe Line, the geopolitical border that divides India and Pakistan, came into existence on this day, August 17, in the year 1947. It was formed following the partition.

Where is McMahon Line in Arunachal Pradesh which district?

By the end of December 2017, when it was reported that China was constructing a road at Bishing village in Arunachal Pradesh’s Tuting area in the Upper Siang district, the Chinese road construction machines rolled almost 1.25 km inside the imaginary Line of Actual Control or the Mc Mohan Line.

Where is the McMahon Line in India and China?

McMahon Line is the boundary between the Northeastern region of India and the Tibet (an autonomous region of China). The line stretches for 550 miles from Bhutan to 160 miles east of River Brahmaputra’s great bend along the Himalayas.

What’s the difference between Lac and McMahon Line?

The Mcmahon Line is a line of demarcation between India and China. What is the difference between LAC and McMahon Line? McMahon Line is a borderline between China and India i.e. China-occupied territory of the East-Himalayan region and the Indian regions; which India considers to be the actual line of control while China rejects it.

Why was the McMahon Line illegal in China?

The McMahon Line was a negotiation between India and Tibet without the participation of the Chinese government. China considers the McMahon Line illegal and unacceptable claiming that Tibetan representatives who had signed the 1914 Convention held in Shimla which delineated the McMahon line on the map were not having the right to do so.

What is the name of the border line between China and India?

The McMahon Line is a border line between Tibetan region of China and North-east region of India, proposed by British colonial administrator Henry McMahon at the 1914 Simla Convention which was signed between the British and the Tibetan representatives.