Menu Close

Which is the standard meridian of the country?

Which is the standard meridian of the country?

-From Gujarat to Arunachal Pradesh, there is a time lag of two hours. – Hence, time along the Standard Meridian of India (82°30’E) passing through Mirzapur (in Uttar Pradesh) is taken as the standard time for the whole country.

Which country has two standard meridian?

The country of Brazil has two standard meridians. These are -45 and -60 degrees.

What are the standard meridians?

Standard meridians occur every 15° of longitudinal displacement from the prime meridian (e.g., 15° W, 30° W, 45° W, etc.) The standard meridians also establish the local noon for the time zone and, therefore, each time zone is defined as being 7.5° longitudinal displacement both west and east of the standard meridian.

What is the multiple of standard meridian of a country?

The international convention says that longitudinal difference between two standard meridians should be a multiple of 7.5 degrees, so that time difference is always in half hours or full hours (7.5 deg * 4 min/deg = 30 minutes).

Why is standard meridian important for a country?

The time of a place depends on the longitude that passes through it. Therefore, the standard time for each country is usually taken as the time of the central meridian that passes through it. Thus, we need a standard meridian for the country.

How standard meridian is calculated?

To find the time meridian of a country, take the westernmost longitude and the easternmost longitude of that country, take the mean, and find the nearest multiple of 7.5 degree. As India’s longitudinal extent is from 68° 7′ 53″ E to 97° 24′ 47″ E. Nearest multiple of 7.5° is 82.5°.

What is standard meridian of Pakistan?

The standard meridian of Nepal is longitude 86°20’E, Pakistan is longitude 74 degrees, 22′ east, Bangladesh is 90.00° E longitude, England is Longitude 0 degrees, Malaysia is longitude 105 degree and Japan is longitude 135 degrees east.

What is the standard meridian of London?

Greenwich meridian
Greenwich meridian, imaginary line used to indicate 0° longitude that passes through Greenwich, a borough of London, and terminates at the North and South poles.

What are 3 facts about meridians?

Facts about Lines of Longitude–Are known as meridians. –Run in a north-south direction. –Measure distance east or west of the prime meridian. –Are farthest apart at the equator and meet at the poles.

What does the standard meridian mean?

Standard Meridian is the longitude which is used to describe time of a country. It ideally should be the same for the whole country and all the places in a country should follow this same time. The standard meridian of India is 82.5 ° E and it passes through Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh.

What is standard meridian used for?

Why is there a standard meridian in each country?

So, there is a lot of confusion in the whole country. Therefore, a standard meridian should be established in each country as it is the central longitude of the whole country so that there is an equal time in all the country. There should be no uncertainty in a country about the time. All the sites in a specific place will have about the same time.

How many standard meridians are there in Russia?

Eleven standard meridians pass through Russia. These are 30, 45, 60, 75, 90, 105, 120, 135, 150, 165, and 180 degrees. Consequently, Russia has eleven time zones. The country of Brazil has two standard meridians.

Where is the standard meridian of Bangladesh located?

The standard meridian of Bangladesh is 90.00° E longitude, which passes over the Harukandi Union of Harirampur Upazila of the Manikganj District, Bangladesh. The standard meridian of England is Longitude 0 degre, which passes over Greenwich. The standard meridian of Malaysia is longitude 105 degree.

What’s the standard meridian for Nepal and Pakistan?

As per my search I got following results for the standard meridian for different countries. The easiest local standard for time is meridian that is when the sun position directly aligns with the local longitude meridian. Standard Meridian of Nepal is longitude 86°20’E. It passes through Mount Gauri Shankar.