Menu Close

What is an IAT certification?

What is an IAT certification?

IAT stands for Information Assurance Technical. The IAT certification levels are achieved by passing specific exams and having certain work experiences that meet particular requirements. These requirements are focused on technical knowledge and are geared toward technical staff.

What is DODD 8570.01 m IAT II?

DoD Directive 8570 and 8140 use 8570.01-m to outline cybersecurity certification requirements for specific job categories. For example, someone in an IAT II role could earn CompTIA Security+ for DoD 8570 compliance.

What is IAM Level 3 certification?

Within the DoD directive, Level 3 includes a series of baseline certifications that further validate I.T staff’s skills and expertise. Certifications within DoD IAM Level 3 comprises of three exams. An applicant only needs to acquire one of the approved certifications for each Information Assurance (IA) category.

What is IAM level certification?

The IAM Level 1 certifications are a must have for DoD IA/Cybersecurity professionals. They prove the employee has the basic skills to perform C&A/A&A tasks and help protect the information systems used to help protect our country.

How do I get 8570 certified?

4 Steps To Earn A DoD 8570 Baseline Certification

  1. Contact Your IA Manager.
  2. Obtain Training From An Approved Provider.
  3. Request Your Certification Exam Voucher.
  4. Notify Your Manager Once You Earned Your Certification.

What level is Security+?

Level II
Security+ meets Information Assurance Technical IAT Level II and Information Assurance Management Level I. So, what does all this mean pursuing a certification of CompTIA’s Security+? In short, obtaining a Security+ accreditation meets the certification requirement for IAT Level II (Figure 2).

What is a IAT Level II?

What are the DoD IAT levels? There are three category levels within the IAT category: Level 1: Computing environment information assurance. Level 2: Network environment information assurance. Level 3: Enclave, advanced network and computer information assurance.

How can I get IAM certificate?

To be awarded the IAM Certificate, candidates will need to achieve an overall score of 65%, with a score of not less than 50% in each of the five modules. The exam is ‘closed book’, which means that printed reference materials and dictionaries cannot be taken into the examination room.

What replaced 8570?

DoDD 8140
Department of Defense Directive 8570 has been replaced by the DoD CIO as DoDD 8140; DoDD 8570 is now a part of a larger initiative that falls under the guidelines of DoDD 8140.

Which is better Cissp or CISM?

The CISM certification is solely management-focused, while CISSP is both technical and managerial and designed for security leaders who design, engineer, implement and manage the overall security posture of an organization. CISSP is more widely known than CISM, with 136,428 CISSPs globally, compared with 28,000 CISMs.

Is Security+ exam hard?

Earning a Security+ certification is not easy, but with proper preparation, focused training, and practice, you will achieve it and deliver rewarding results in your job and career. Here are 5 tips to help you prepare for and pass the Security+ exam.

Is the CompTIA Security+ worth it?

CompTIA Security+ is a popular cybersecurity certification. More than 600,000 IT pros have earned it. Other goals may include getting a vendor-neutral cybersecurity certification or a DoD-approved cert. If you have any of these IT career goals, CompTIA Security+ is worth it for you.

What are the different levels of IAT certifications?

For example, an individual in an IAT Level II position could obtain any one of the four certifications listed in the IAT Level II cell. Higher level IAT and IAM certifications satisfy lower level requirements. Certifications listed in Level II or III cells can be used to qualify for Level I.

Do you need IAT certification to work in DoD?

Workers in an IAT role have privileged access to one or more category levels in a DoD environment. They also possess the right level of certification and functional requirements of the position. To identify a member of the IAT workforce, the individual needs to have:

Which is higher level CSSP or Iasae certification?

Higher level CSSP and IASAE certifications do not satisfy lower level requirements 1. This certification is equivalent to the CND-SP certification cited in the DoD 8570.01-M. The name was changed from CND-SP to CCSP to reflect current terminology in the DoD Instruction 8530.01 “Cybersecurity Activities Support to DoD Information Network Operations.

What is the DoD Directive for Information Assurance?

Information Assurance Technical (IAT) Certification Training Classes Department of Defense (DoD) Directive 8570.1. Technical (IAT) Level certifications are cumulative. Higher level certifications qualify for lower level requirements. Certifications listed in Level II or III cells can be used to qualify for Level I.