Menu Close

Is it legal to grow Marijuanas in CT?

Is it legal to grow Marijuanas in CT?

All adults over age 21 will be able to grow under the same rules starting July 1, 2023. Plants must be grown indoors and must not be visible from the street. People who choose to grow their own plants must do so in their primary residence and where individuals under 21 can not access the plants.

Is recreational weed legal in Connecticut 2021?

Possession: Possession of cannabis among adults age 21 and over will be legal in Connecticut beginning July 1, 2021. Adults cannot have more than 1.5 ounces of cannabis on their person, and no more than 5 ounces in their homes or locked in their car truck or glove box.

Can I buy recreational weed in CT?

With recreational marijuana now legal to use and possess for adults in Connecticut, some residents have crossed state lines or considered doing so to purchase the drug at Massachusetts dispensaries where sales have been legal since 2018.

How much weed is a felony in CT?

Connecticut Laws and Penalties

Offense Penalty
Less than 1 kilogram (subsequent offense) Felony
1 kilogram or more (first offense) Felony
1 kilogram or more (subsequent offense) Felony
Within 1,500 feet of an elementary/middle school, public housing project, or daycare center is punishable by an additional 3 years imprisonment.

What happens if you get caught with weed in CT?

Under Connecticut law, the unauthorized possession of less than ½ ounce of marijuana is not a crime, but is punishable by fines (and other penalties in certain circumstances). The unauthorized possession of ½ ounce or more is a misdemeanor, except certain repeat offenders may be subject to felony penalties.

How much weed can you carry in CT?

The new law allows individuals age 21 and older to possess or consume up to 1.5 ounces (42.5 grams) of “cannabis plant material” and up to 5 ounces (141.7 grams) in a locked container in a home or in the trunk or locked glove box in the person’s vehicle.