Menu Close

Who scored the first goal for England in the 2010 World Cup?

Who scored the first goal for England in the 2010 World Cup?

England and USA are moments away from kick-off at World Cup 2010 at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenberg, South Africa. England’s World Cup campaign is under way as Fabio Capello’s men kick off. If you’d like a different sort of commentary, there’s a minute-by-minute one going on right here.

Who scored the goal in the 2010 World Cup?

Villa gave Spain the lead on 24 minutes, with what The Guardian’s Rob Smyth dewscribed as “the goal of the World Cup so far”, scoring from a distance of 40 yards (37 m) on the left of the pitch, picking up a loose ball after Chilean goalkeeper Claudio Bravo had come out of the penalty area to tackle Fernando Torres.

Who knocked England in 2010?

England are out of the World Cup after losing 4-1 to Germany in South Africa, leaving millions of fans disappointed. Controversially, England were not given a goal when 2-1 down, despite the ball crossing the line, and Germany will now face Argentina in the quarter finals.

Who was the best player in 2010 World Cup?

Official award

World Cup Golden Ball Silver Ball
2002 South Korea/Japan Oliver Kahn Ronaldo
2006 Germany Zinedine Zidane Fabio Cannavaro
2010 South Africa Diego Forlán Wesley Sneijder
2014 Brazil Lionel Messi Thomas Müller

When was England last in a World Cup final?

The 1966 FIFA World Cup Final was a football match played at Wembley Stadium, London, on 30 July 1966 to determine the winner of the 1966 FIFA World Cup, the eighth FIFA World Cup….1966 FIFA World Cup Final.

Queen Elizabeth II presents England captain Bobby Moore with the World Cup trophy.
England West Germany 4 2
Attendance 96,924
← 1962 1970 →

Did England ever win the World Cup?

They have won one World Cup, in 1966 on home soil, and since they first entered in 1950 have played in 15 of the 18 finals tournaments to 2018; they were knocked out in qualifying tournaments for 1974, 1978, and 1994.

Who won the Golden Boot in 2010?

Thomas Muller
World Cup Award Winners

Year Golden Ball Golden Boot
2014 Lionel Messi James Rodriguez
2010 Diego Forlan Thomas Muller
2006 Zinedine Zidane Miroslav Klose
2002 Oliver Kahn Ronaldo

Who is the highest goal scorer in 2010?

Thomas Mueller
Below we give a chart containing all the 2010 World Cup goal scorers….World Cup Top Goal Scorers – Thomas Mueller Wins The Golden Shoe.

Rank 1
Name Thomas Mueller
Country GER
Club Bayern Munich
Goals (Pens) 5 (0)

Which country won the World Cup soccer in 2010?

European champions Spain beat Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal in the second round and Paraguay in the quarter-finals, both 1-0….2010 South Africa World Cup.

Teams Germany
D 0
L 1
GF 5
GA 1

What year did Germany knock England out?

Euro 1996 SF, England vs Germany – Recap: When Gareth Southgate missed a penalty, and England were knocked out. England and Germany have enjoyed a rivalry for the past two decades, and the rivalry reached its peak during the infamous Euro 1996 semifinal at Wembley.

How many times has England been in a final?

Who was the England goalkeeper in the 2010 World Cup?

England’s goalkeeper Robert Green concedes a howler against USA. Oh Robert. Photograph: Darren Staples/Reuters Good evening everybody!

How many goals were scored in the 2010 FIFA World Cup?

Only 145 goals were scored at South Africa 2010, the lowest of any FIFA World Cup since the tournament switched to a 64-game format. This continued a downward trend since the first 64-game finals were held 12 years earlier, with 171 goals at France 1998, 161 at Korea/Japan 2002 and 147 at Germany 2006.

Are there any defending champions in the 2010 World Cup?

As happened in the previous tournament, the defending champions were not given an automatic berth, and Italy had to participate in qualification. With a pool of entrants comprising 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams at the time, the 2010 World Cup shares with the 2008 Summer Olympics the record for most competing nations in a sporting event.

Who are the countries that bid for the 2010 World Cup?

Five African nations placed bids to host the 2010 World Cup: Egypt, Morocco, South Africa and a joint bid from Libya and Tunisia. Following the decision of the FIFA Executive Committee not to allow co-hosted tournaments, Tunisia withdrew from the bidding process.